Embroidery frames

I’d love to have one, but when i checked what is in the shops, there was nothing that I really need. It’s impossible to buy anything apropriate for me in Poland and quite good stand frames in shops abroad are rather too expensive for me. Finally I decided to ask my husband to make what I want as a Christmas gift. I hope it’ll work πŸ˜‰

The first step was chcecking what is important and useful to me. I have quite a good image of a frame that I need now and found some good places to learn more about such an equipment.

Here you’ll find a lot of information about different kinds of frames. In this site there is a great artice about mounting your fabric in a slate frame and also about adjusting a scroll frame to use it as a slate.

And finally The Woman of 1000 hobbies shows a frame made by her husband. I think this is a great idea to make the stands high whith a possibility to change the position of a frame if you need it stay higher or lower.

My dream frame will be a little different from what I have seen, but first we have to learn some woodworking πŸ˜‰ Hope we’ll do it.

3 Comments »

  1. Elaine said

    Hi Julita,

    Just wanted to let you know that the link you to my site in this article on embroidery frames is no longer valid. The new location of the page is at http://www.thousandhobbies.com/hobbies/Embroidery/embframe.html

    Thanks,

    Elaine, The Woman of 1,000 Hobbies
    http://www.thousandhobbies.com

    P.S. Did you ever get the frame you wanted?

  2. Julita said

    Hi Elaine,
    Thanks for the information, I updated the link and- yes- I got a frame, finally it wasn’t hand-made, because my husband decided to pay more and not to have to work πŸ˜‰ I found in UK a frame that was good enough for my needs, in reasonable price and whith a possibility to flatten. You can see it here:
    https://thepingallery.wordpress.com/2007/01/06/embroidery-frames-again-and-some-work-done/
    It’s much better than what you can buy in Poland and the tension is perfect. I would love to have something more “massive’ but I don’t have enough place, so this frame is ideal for now πŸ™‚

  3. Mary said

    Finding an authentic slate frame in the U.S. has turned out to be quite a problem. I really regret not ordering one from the Royal School of Needlework when I was living in England this past year. They seemed quite expensive but then they one should expect to pay something for equipment that would also serve as a display for the embroidery while you’re working on it.

    If you’ve found another source that ships outside the UK (RSN doesn’t), I’d greatly appreciate it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

